Students Inducted Into National Honor Society

Students Inducted Into National Honor Society

Fontbonne congratulates all of the students inducted into the school’s chapter of the National Honor Society on November 20th.  The induction ceremony in the CSJ Center was part of a prayer service in honor of Mother St. John Fontbonne, the school’s founding sister. The celebration began with a beautiful piano performance by Renee Han ‘22. The community joined in singing the school’s Alma Mater before Head of School, Maura Spignesi, addressed the students. Mrs. Spignesi shared with the students of the importance of being the kind of leader Mother St. John Fontbonne was saying, “To be encouraging, to bring others along with us.  To listen. To recognize God in all of us. To be the light and love for others - uniting neighbor to neighbor and neighbor with God.”

Students from the French Honor Society and those who took part in the France Exchange Program then spoke in both English and French about the legacy of Mother St. John Fontbonne.  A meaningful reflection was delivered by Hanna Jane Kilduff ‘20 and the Gospel Choir provided reflection songs throughout the service; singing with both beauty and grace. 

19 young women were then inducted into NHS joining seven former members.  The NHS selection is based on outstanding scholarship, character, leadership and service.  Fontbonne is a sponsored ministry of the Sisters of Saint Joseph of Boston. Members of the CSJ played a key role in the induction ceremony. Four sisters were honored to bestow the NHS stoles on the new inductees. Mrs. Spignesi also presented the young women with their pins. During the ceremony, the new NHS officers were also installed: President Hanna Jane Kilduff ‘20, Vice President Mary Stack ‘20, Secretary Meghan Stravin ‘20 and Treasurer Clarissa Garzon ‘20.

Following the service, the NHS inductees, members and their families celebrated their achievements and enjoyed each other’s company at a reception in the school foyer. Join us in congratulating them on this accomplishment!

2019-20 National Honor Society Inductees:

Emma Boothroyd ‘21, Olivia Chiavegato ‘21, Gabrielle Dedier ‘20, Grace Doyle ‘21, Grace Duncan ‘20, Anna Krasnoslobodtseva ‘21, Emily Kraunelis ‘21, Sydney Lunnin ‘21, Fiona McDonald ‘21,
Kate McDonald ‘21, Emily Morgan ‘21, Julianne Sheehan ‘21, Ruizhe Shen ‘21, Caitlin Sullivan ‘21, Lindsey Toland ‘20, Selina Tran ‘21, Carolyn Tuite ‘20, Abigail Vixama ‘20 & Jacqueline White ‘20